Global Knowledge

Companies and organizations around the globe are increasingly realizing the benefits of agile over traditional waterfall methodologies, and are making the switch. There are many options for agile certifications. However, the Project Management Institute (PMI),(r) Agile Certified Practitioner(PMI-ACP),(r) is the most popular and fastest growing agile credential. The PMI-ACP certification recognizes your knowledge and ability to use agile techniques.
The PMI released its latest exam in March 2018. If you are interested in obtaining the PMI ACP certification, you will need to be up-to-date on the five steps involved in the certification process.
Step 1. Examine the Certification Eligibility Requirements
The PMI-ACP Handbook outlines a number requirements for certification.
General Project Experience
Agile Project Experience
Training in Agile Practices


Experience working in project teams for over 2,000 hours
The requirement will be satisfied if the hours have been worked in the last five years.
1,500 hours spent working in agile teams or using agile methodologies.
These hours must be in addition to the 2,000 hours of project experience required. They must have been earned within three years.
21 hours must have been spent in agile practices.

Secondary degree (high school diploma) or equivalent.
Step 2. Step 2.
To help you prepare for the exam, find a study course and study materials. A good way to earn PDUs and train is to use one of PMI’s registered education providers (REPs).

Step 3: Apply to the Certification
PMI encourages you use the online certification system for your credential application. PMI Customer Care can request a printable version. This is possible on a case-by–case basis. (It takes about five days for PMI to notify you if your application has been approved. After you submit your PMI-ACP application, you have 90 days to complete it. You have one year to pass the PMI ACP exam once your application has been approved.

Step 4: Schedule your exam and pass it
After your application has been approved, schedule your exam. The 120-question, multiple choice PMI-ACP exam will take you three hours. You’ll be able to retake the exam three times if you fail to pass.
NOTE: The Exam Policies and Procedures section of the PMI ACP Handbook is highly recommended. It reflects the changes in paper-based testing as opposed to computer-based testing. It is important to understand the details of your exam date confirmation and the fees and policies that will apply if you cancel or reschedule your exam.
These fees are applicable to the exam:
* Computer-based or paper-based testing (PMI members: $435
* Re-examination CBT/PBT (PMI members): $335
* CCR certification renewal (PMI members): $60
The table below shows the weighting of domains that were covered in the exam.
Percentages of items on the Test
Domain I. Agile Principles & Mindset
Domain II. Domain II.
Domain III. Domain III.
Domain IV. Domain IV.
Domain V. Adaptive planning
Domain VI. Domain VI.
Domain VII. Continuous Improvement (Product, Process, People)
Step 5. Step 5.
Your newly earned PMI ACP certification is valid for 3 years. To keep it current, you will need to earn PDUs. In each three-year cycle, you will need to earn 30 PDUs in agile management. The cycle begins on the day that you pass your exam. (You can find more information in PMI’s CCR Handbook.

Similar Training
Agile Training
Don’t miss another article. Subscribe to our newsletter.

Trending Articles
15 Top-Paying Certifications

You Might Also Like